17:25 (IST)

Lok Sabha election winner 2019 latest updates

Massive mandate for Modi as BJP bags 302 Lok Sabha seats

After sealing its electoral victory with a 300-plus win, the BJP on Friday began discussing the process of government formation while the Congress dealt with the fallout of defeat with a spate of resignations from its state leaders.

As the counting of votes for 542 Lok Sabha seats is coming to end, the Narendra Modi-led party had 302 seats in its kitty and was leading in one, a super-sized victory that had its leaders looking forward to a second successive term in government.

15:59 (IST)

Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha election winner 2019 latest updates

BJP makes remarkable comeback in Chhattisgarh, bags seven out of 11 LS seats at stake

Putting behind its debacle in the Assembly elections held just six months ago, the BJP staged a remarkable comeback in Chhattisgarh in the Lok Sabha polls, winning nine of the 11 seats at stake.

The ruling Congress, that ended the 15-year-long rule of the BJP in Chhattisgarh late last year, suffered a jolt as it managed to win just two Lok Sabha seats.

The BJP won Raipur, Durg, Rajnandgaon, Bilaspur, Surguja (ST), Raigarh (ST), Janjgir-Champa (SC), Kanker (ST) and Mahasamund constituencies, while the Congress grabbed two – Bastar and Korba, PTI reported.