NEW DELHI: Nripendra Misra and P K Mishra were on Tuesday re-appointed as principal secretary and additional principal secretary respectively to Prime Minister Narendra Modi with Cabinet minister rank. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved both the appointments with effect from May 31, an order issued by the personnel ministry said. Their appointments will be co-terminus with the term of the Prime Minister, it said. Earlier, the government had reappointed Ajit Doval as the national security adviser (NSA) for a second consecutive term and also elevated him to the rank of a Union Cabinet minister. Doval was in May 2014 appointed as the fifth NSA in the rank of Minister of State. He is the first national security adviser to get a second term. The government had also extended the term of Cabinet secretary PK Sinha by three months. The Centre had amended a 60-year-old rule to grant extension to P K Sinha, making him the longest-serving bureaucrat in the post in the country’s history. This was the third extension given to Sinha, whose tenure was increased by one-year each in 2017 and 2018.